Winners 2015

Commodity Broker of the Year, 2010

Winner: GFI Group

GFI Group (which includes subsidiaries Amerex LLC, Trayport and Starsupply) have been leaders in the brokerage of energy and commodity products for over 30 years. The group’s brokerage desks cover the gamut of energy and related products globally, including physical and financial electricity, natural gas, coal, crude oil, fuel oil refined products, carbon emissions, and renewable energy credits.

A key differentiating factor is the group’s hybrid brokerage strategy and the development of state-of-the-art execution platforms EnergyMatch® and EnergyMatch® Europe.

Additionally, Amerex LLC offers extensive data products including comprehensive daily indicative price reports for the North American natural gas, power, and emissions markets, together with weekly reports for the RECs and carbon markets.

GFI Group subsidiary Trayport is the leading provider of software to the European commodity trading community with its world-class GlobalVision® electronic platform, which can accommodate electronic trading, information sharing and STP. Trayport is the leading provider of trading software in the European energy markets and is used extensively by brokers, exchanges and trading counterparties.

GFI continues to take a leadership role in providing intermediation in new product classes, such as freight and property derivatives, and is a leader in servicing global markets for greenhouse gas emissions trading.

GFI provides services and products to over 2,400 institutional clients, including leading banks, corporations, insurance companies and hedge funds.

GFI Group’s commitment to the energy sector is unsurpassed and, as reflected in the strength of its nomination and the votes cast by the industry, GFI are deserving winners of this year’s Commodity Broker of the Year Award.

The Award for Commodity Broker of the Year 2010 was presented to Julian Swain, MD Head of London with GFI Group by Gyles Brandreth, celebrated British author, broadcaster, actor and former Conservative Member of Parliament.