Winners 2016

The winners of the Commodity Business Awards 2012 were announced at a special Gala Dinner in London on November 6th, 2012 at London's St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel

Trading, Risk & Portfolio Management – Rewarding Excellence in:

Commodity Market Development – Rewarding Excellence in:

Commodity Transactions Management – and announcing:

Commodity Deal of the Year 2012

Morgan Stanley

(Petroplus Coryton supply, offtake and inventory management)


Commodity Research House of the Year 2012



Commodity Broker of the Year 2012

GFI Group

(including subsidiares Amerex LLC and Starsupply)


Commodity Exchange of the Year 2012

London Metal Exchange


Commodity House of the Year 2012

Morgan Stanley


Ceremony pictures are available here

"Commodity Business is now recognised as pivotal to human need, endeavour and prosperity like never before. In our business we have developed market-based mechanisms to achieve desired outcomes and, while not perfect, the responsibilities we have to our employers, shareholders and clients should not overshadow our need to develop markets responsibly and ethically," says This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Awards Director and Publisher/Editor of Commodities Now magazine.

“Our thoughts continue to focus on the critical macro questions of the day. These include the extent and direction to which monetary and fiscal policy is being directed towards a real fix for economies. At the same time, we strive to make sense of – and to implement – the new regulatory and reporting requirements being demanded of the financial services industry more widely. Many have been long due, whilst others might only serve to stifle markets and disincentivise investment and innovation.

“These new regulatory and reporting requirements will ultimately change the shape and character of this marketplace with the players, and their roles, already evolving to reflect a new market paradigm.

“Governments, regulators, investors, speculators, traders, manufacturers, consumers – all those with a stake in the commodity industry – rely on those organisations represented here. They are the best-in-class of the commodity business community.

“These awards recognise and reward talent and excellence throughout the commodity complex; to those companies making a significant impact on the way in which commodity business is conducted and recognising those institutions making a positive contribution to the development of markets, client responsibility, and investor satisfaction,” added Isherwood.

Ends --

The Commodity Business Awards: A two-stage process

Stage 1: This first stage for nominations concluded in September 2012. Companies from throughout the commodity complex were invited to nominate themselves or others in any one of the 20 categories of excellence.

Stage 2: The second stage took place during October 2012 and involved voting at the dedicated Commodity Business Awards website for one of the shortlisted nominees from each category drawn up by the awards panel.